Darren
5 star rating
02/03/2024
Charming Pub, fabulous food What a charming public house located in the Beautiful village of Sedbergh. My wife and I moved to the local area (Hornby) 2 years ago and although regular visitors to Sedbergh with the dogs, had never got round to going in. Needless to say, now that we have we will be regulars - the food was absolutely incredible, the service was spot on and the Pub itself is a delight. There had been a widespread loss of power in the area during the daytime, which I’m sure must have caused the staff/chef all sorts of issues however none of this was evident when we arrived. Very highly recommended.
read more
Terry B
5 star rating
17/02/2024
A big thank you to the staff of Dalesman Country Inn I called in this lovely pub for a drink with a group of friends after walking the Howgils. I mislaid a sum of money & didn’t realise until I got home a few hours later. I telephoned & spoke to Danielle. The manager had found the money & promised to return it to me. It arrived in the post this morning! It’s nice to know that there are still honest people around & many thanks to the staff.
read more
Summer Leigh M
5 star rating
14/02/2024
Valentine’s Day Meal I can’t thank the staff enough for catering to me and my partner around our needs. Unfortunately they had sold out on their most popular meal which we would have wanted off their Valentine’s list. The staff were so helpful that they opened their other menu up, to cater for us. We would definitely recommend this friendly, beautiful pub in the heart of Sedburgh to anybody visiting. We can not thank them enough for doing this and not letting us go hungry! 😊
read more
Dream29511199478
5 star rating
01/12/2023
Perfect, comfortable stay. Our first visit to the Dalesman for a friends birthday. One word - WOW - a lovely pub with great food. It doesn’t stop there. The room we had (4) was absolutely gorgeous. If I could we would have brought the bed home! It was so comfortable. We will be back, and in greater numbers!
read more
Beth H
5 star rating
01/12/2023
Six star in every way. We have just returned from The Dalesman where we spent a night in this delightful Inn. The whole experience was perfect from start to finish. Staff all very friendly. Room was beautifully furnished, extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. Our evening meal was cooked to perfection and there was a good choice of wines on offer too. Arriving on a cold afternoon and being welcomed by a roaring log fire in the authentic bar area was a joy. After a very comfortable nights rest the breakfast was perfect. It is obvious that the very best of produce is being used. Quality. Doddington cheese on the dinner menu, always a good indication of artisan quality produce. Sedbergh toiletries were so good that we stopped in Tebay services on the way home to stock up. Thank you for giving us a really delightful stay. We will def be back.
read more
oohhay
5 star rating
24/11/2023
Beautiful tasty lunch As it was a lovely sunny day we decided to head off to Sedbergh. Not been there before but a nice surprise. We ended up in the Dalesman and what a treat. Both meals we had were very nice. I had chicken and mushroom pie with roast veg which was gorgeous. Hubby had tempura cod, chips. He said his was delish. We would definitely go there again.
read more
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1
Tony B
5 star rating
09/10/2023
Great Food. Well worth coming all this way from London for. Stopped in for late lunch. Fantastic food and a very relaxing and friendly place. Highly recommended the flatbread. The Lamb version and the mozzarella were great. Not to much but easily enough for lunch.
read more
funilittlethings
5 star rating
08/10/2023
Beautiful delicious food. Such a beautiful hotel we stayed for lunch and we where blown away with such beautiful plates of delicious food presented to us. We will definitely be back very soon and we definitely recommend coming here.
read more
Andrea W
5 star rating
08/10/2023
Amazing food!!! Visited this beautiful place hidden away off beaten track last week. The food!!!! Oh my word the chef is clearly very talented. The presentation and flavour was beautiful. Very much recommended to adults, especially romantic meals and family evenings.
read more
Resort57093778677
5 star rating
26/09/2023
What a pleasant find Blown away by todays visit. We thought we would give a try and boy were we impressed. From reading some reviews we were a little sceptical but all i can say is go try for yourself. I had the home smoked trout with horseradish, fennel, pickled vegetables and a thin seeded biscuit it was amazing, followed by the most perfectly cooked steak with a Lobster butter, highly recommended this. My friend had celeriac & apple soup with some kind of spiced pear crisps, fancy whipped butter and sourdough it was to die for then followed by a Saddle of Lamb and Sheppard's Pie all as one meal we were so impressed. Our desserts were so good we took pictures. This place is a Gem that deserves its rosettes if you get the chance to visit we would happily recommend. Lastly thanks to our server Brian you made us feel very at home and we will be returning. *****
read more
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1
Tim W
5 star rating
21/08/2023
A really successful family celebration We stayed at The Dalesman for a Friday-Sunday weekend as a multigenerational, extended family group. The team (special mention to Carol) couldn't have been more helpful in the planning stages, and throughout our stay. It was a celebration for us, and the team facilitated it well, making sure we had appropriate space (in a private cubby table off the main bar). There's a varied selection of rooms, which accommodated singles, couples and families (including one off-site cottage which is only about 200 yards from the pub itself). It worked well for us. Foodwise, you could tell that it tested the kitchen and the team to manage our group size and timings alongside their regulars and other paying guests, but they managed our expectations with transparency and my impression was that they managed very well overall. The dinner menu satisfied us all across Friday and Saturday nights, with everyone finding two choices they were pleased with, so we didn't need the complexity of venturing out.
read more
David L
5 star rating
06/08/2023
Great pub and brilliant band A lovely pub. Staff are excellent and very attentive. Rooms are spotless and very comfortable. We had a lovely meal of pie and chips and we're entertained by an absolutley brilliant band 'The Secrets'. Such a variety in their set. The place was bouncing. We'll definitely be back if they're on again. Top night all round.
read more
  • 1
  • 2
  • 5
  • >

Trusted & Award Winning

We’re proud to be the 2022 winner of The Family Business Community North West Award for our quality food and service. As well as our excellent Tripadvisor reviews, we have also made it on to the Travelers’ Choice list.

“The Sedbergh pub with a passion for provenance”

The Dalesman Country Inn located in the picturesque town of Sedbergh is a pub run with a passion for provenance. Originally a 16th century coaching inn, the venue has more recently earned a reputation for their remarkable approach to food production and sourcing.

Offering a true ‘taste of the Dales’, diners can enjoy a creative seasonal menu which champions ‘hero’ local ingredients, sustainably sourced from small-scale farmers and producers.

“It was always my aim to have a menu that was inspired by our outstanding quality local produce,” says Mike.

Visit The Area

The Dalesman Country Inn is the ideal base for visiting the English Lake District or exploring the Yorkshire Dales.