Mike A
5 star rating
11/06/2024
Sanctuary after a long walk Stepping into the Dalesman was a weight lifted off my feet, legs and shoulders after 7 hours on the Dales Way. The decor and ambiance was beautiful but still welcoming. 3 local real ales was the essential icing on the cake.

A logistical cockup on accommodation added to the injury of 8 hour walk instead of 5 and the resulting blisters. (I saved an hour putting my thumb out a couple of miles before Sedbergh . And the 4th car stopped!! V friendly locals.) Carol at the Dalesman came to my rescue with a gorgeous single room with a bath that I took full benefit of to soak my aching body.

Breakfast was exactly that after a 3 day fast. I was going to try for a full 6 days for the length of the walk, but as the room and restaurant was so nice I thought the breakfast would be too. I wasn’t disappointed. Well done Carol and the team. Top marks.
read more
ANNA M
5 star rating
15/04/2024
Beautiful meal at The Dalesman Sedbergh Beautiful meal and excellent service at The Dalesman in Sedbergh. We both had different starters and main but both were equally lovely. Shared a dessert which was just yummy. It was quiet ( first day back after Easter hols) but nonetheless very welcoming and our wine was delicious.We WILL be back thank you xx
read more
Christine M
5 star rating
14/04/2024
Wonderful food in lovely surroundings Spent 3 nights in Sedbergh and after eating at The Dalesman one night we decided it was a must to go back to eat again. The pub/bar is very welcoming & comfortable. The food is so, so good! The staff are lovely & Brian made us feel very welcome. The menu had been updated on our second visit & we discussed with Brian that it was a shame that the shin of beef with mustard mash was no longer on the menu, but having said that, it gave us the opportunity to try the trio of lamb which was amazing. We will definitely visit again when next in Sedbergh & will recommend it to anyone else visiting the area.
read more
Darren
5 star rating
02/03/2024
Charming Pub, fabulous food What a charming public house located in the Beautiful village of Sedbergh. My wife and I moved to the local area (Hornby) 2 years ago and although regular visitors to Sedbergh with the dogs, had never got round to going in. Needless to say, now that we have we will be regulars - the food was absolutely incredible, the service was spot on and the Pub itself is a delight. There had been a widespread loss of power in the area during the daytime, which I’m sure must have caused the staff/chef all sorts of issues however none of this was evident when we arrived. Very highly recommended.
read more
Terry B
5 star rating
17/02/2024
A big thank you to the staff of Dalesman Country Inn I called in this lovely pub for a drink with a group of friends after walking the Howgils. I mislaid a sum of money & didn’t realise until I got home a few hours later. I telephoned & spoke to Danielle. The manager had found the money & promised to return it to me. It arrived in the post this morning! It’s nice to know that there are still honest people around & many thanks to the staff.
read more
Summer Leigh M
5 star rating
14/02/2024
Valentine’s Day Meal I can’t thank the staff enough for catering to me and my partner around our needs. Unfortunately they had sold out on their most popular meal which we would have wanted off their Valentine’s list. The staff were so helpful that they opened their other menu up, to cater for us. We would definitely recommend this friendly, beautiful pub in the heart of Sedburgh to anybody visiting. We can not thank them enough for doing this and not letting us go hungry! 😊
read more
Beth H
5 star rating
01/12/2023
Six star in every way. We have just returned from The Dalesman where we spent a night in this delightful Inn. The whole experience was perfect from start to finish. Staff all very friendly. Room was beautifully furnished, extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. Our evening meal was cooked to perfection and there was a good choice of wines on offer too. Arriving on a cold afternoon and being welcomed by a roaring log fire in the authentic bar area was a joy. After a very comfortable nights rest the breakfast was perfect. It is obvious that the very best of produce is being used. Quality. Doddington cheese on the dinner menu, always a good indication of artisan quality produce. Sedbergh toiletries were so good that we stopped in Tebay services on the way home to stock up. Thank you for giving us a really delightful stay. We will def be back.
read more
Dream29511199478
5 star rating
01/12/2023
Perfect, comfortable stay. Our first visit to the Dalesman for a friends birthday. One word - WOW - a lovely pub with great food. It doesn’t stop there. The room we had (4) was absolutely gorgeous. If I could we would have brought the bed home! It was so comfortable. We will be back, and in greater numbers!
read more
oohhay
5 star rating
24/11/2023
Beautiful tasty lunch As it was a lovely sunny day we decided to head off to Sedbergh. Not been there before but a nice surprise. We ended up in the Dalesman and what a treat. Both meals we had were very nice. I had chicken and mushroom pie with roast veg which was gorgeous. Hubby had tempura cod, chips. He said his was delish. We would definitely go there again.
read more
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1
Tony B
5 star rating
09/10/2023
Great Food. Well worth coming all this way from London for. Stopped in for late lunch. Fantastic food and a very relaxing and friendly place. Highly recommended the flatbread. The Lamb version and the mozzarella were great. Not to much but easily enough for lunch.
read more
funilittlethings
5 star rating
08/10/2023
Beautiful delicious food. Such a beautiful hotel we stayed for lunch and we where blown away with such beautiful plates of delicious food presented to us. We will definitely be back very soon and we definitely recommend coming here.
read more
Andrea W
5 star rating
08/10/2023
Amazing food!!! Visited this beautiful place hidden away off beaten track last week. The food!!!! Oh my word the chef is clearly very talented. The presentation and flavour was beautiful. Very much recommended to adults, especially romantic meals and family evenings.
read more
  • 1
  • 2
  • 6
  • >

Trusted & Award Winning

We’re proud to be the 2022 winner of The Family Business Community North West Award for our quality food and service. As well as our excellent Tripadvisor reviews, we have also made it on to the Travelers’ Choice list.

“The Sedbergh pub with a passion for provenance”

The Dalesman Country Inn located in the picturesque town of Sedbergh is a pub run with a passion for provenance. Originally a 16th century coaching inn, the venue has more recently earned a reputation for their remarkable approach to food production and sourcing.

Offering a true ‘taste of the Dales’, diners can enjoy a creative seasonal menu which champions ‘hero’ local ingredients, sustainably sourced from small-scale farmers and producers.

“It was always my aim to have a menu that was inspired by our outstanding quality local produce,” says Mike.

Visit The Area

The Dalesman Country Inn is the ideal base for visiting the English Lake District or exploring the Yorkshire Dales.